Locked out at 2am


How it all started

It all started after a night out back in March 2009. I’d been out for a few post-work drinks and got a taxi home. When I tried to pay the driver, he asked if I had anything smaller than the awkward 50 euro note I was offering. I remembered that I had some smaller notes inside my apartment so I ran in to get them. I returned, paid the driver and turned to head back in to my apartment. It was then that I realised I’d left my keys inside and was locked out of the building.


I was less than absolutely delighted at this development as it was 2am on a Tuesday evening/Wednesday morning and I had to be up for work at ~7am. However getting annoyed wasn’t going to help so I decided to try waiting for someone else to enter/exit the building. In those silent minutes it occurred to me how useful it would be if I had a remote control for my apartment’s intercom. The intercom can open the building door at the press of a switch. There was nothing I could do at the time but I liked the idea and decided that I’d look into it the next day. I thought it might be worth writing a little about where these thoughts eventually lead me.

A GSM based remote control

I decided that a mobile phone controlled remote control would be the best option. This would have the advantage that I would not need to carry round any new hardware: I’d just need to have my phone with me. Also by using the GSM network I would be able to let people into the building even if I was not there.

A disclaimer

The above plan was all very well but the trouble was that the only electronics I knew was the little I remembered from my school days (over 10 years ago now). When I started this project I just knew what voltage, current, resistors and capacitors were and I had a vague understanding of diodes and transistors. That was it so please bear this in mind if I seem to have done any silly stuff below!

How the intercom works


The intercom in my hall


The same intercom with the front cover removed
From the user’s point of view, the intercom has three components:

  • A push-switch which can be used to open the door to the building (seen on the top right of the housing in the picture).
  • A speaker which will ring when the number of my apartment is dialled at the door to the building.
  • A handset which can be used to converse with a person who has just caused my speaker to ring. [This component was irrelevant for my purposes.]

  • In theory, for this project I should just be interested in the switch but I found that the switch will not cause the door to open unless the speaker has been rung in the last minute or so. This means that for the remote control to work, the user has to ring my apartment on the building intercom system and then send a message via the GSM network to cause the switch to be pressed.

    Version 1

    There ended up being two versions of this project. I’ll talk in more detail about the second, current (final?) version below but there are a few details that were unique to version 1 which I think are worth mentioning. I’ll just sketch things here.


    I was very keen that whatever hardware I ended up adding to my intercom would not alter the look of the hall in my apartment. I thus decided that anything I was going to use would have to fit inside the intercom enclosure. Also, after a few tests I discovered that only a few milliwatts of power were available in the circuits powering the intercom so whatever I was going to add there would almost certainly have to be battery powered. I wasn’t so keen on using batteries until I had the idea that since the speaker for the intercom has to be rung anyway for the switch to work, if I could have a device which was off (and so drawing no current from the batteries) except for a short period after the speaker was rung then I could expect acceptable battery life. Furthermore I had the idea that I could put a small low power short range RF tranceiver in the intercom which would receive commands from a GSM module elsewhere in my apartment. This way the GSM module could be plugged in and always on and very little power would be needed in the intercom, plus it’s easy to get very small RF transceivers that would easily fit inside the intercom enclosure. I decided on this as a solution and bought the following items (amongst others) from Sparkfun:


  • 1x Telit GM862 GPS module
  • 1x Sparkfun GM862 USB evaluation board
  • 2x Maxstream XBee series 2 module (actually the link is to series 2.5 as series 2 seems to be gone)
  • 2x Sparkfun XBee explorer USB board


  • The GM862 GPS module is superb. My favourite feature of it is that it has a python interpreter on it! You can write simple python programs on your PC, upload them to the module and then have them control the module. This obviates the need for another microcontroller telling the GM862 module what to do. It is easy to send and receive text messages and phone calls. The built in GPS module (though of no use to me in this project) is also very easy to use and although I have not yet done it, I believe it is easy to open GPRS connections using the module. The module also has a host of useful GPIO pins which are very useful and a serial port (it has many other features too!).


    The XBee modules are also great (though Maxstream’s decision to remove IO line passing in the XBee series 2 modules is disappointing). They have two modes: transparent where they pair up and behave like a wire-less serial connection and API mode where the user communicates with the modules via their serial ports and can send simple packets back and forth between the modules to determine and set their state, including reading and writing values on their IO pins.


    I used the XBees in API mode for this version of the project. I connected an opto-isolator up to one of the digital IO pins on the XBee module in the intercom so that I could trigger the switch for the intercom using the XBee. (In fact I discovered that I needed to use a Darlington coupled opto-isolator for enough current to trigger the intercom switch.)


    I discovered that an XBee series 2 module (running the ZB 2.5 end device firmware) can be put in pin sleep mode where it consumes < 1uA of current and furthermore that if pin 20 (the commissioning button pin) is grounded once, the module will wake up for 30 seconds and broadcast a Node Identification Indicator packet (API identifier value: 0×95) to the network letting other nodes know it is awake. This feature was perfect and saved me having to manually create my own micro-power timed wake-up circuits for the XBee in the intercom. However I discovered that sometimes this packet did not arrive and so I jumpered pin 20 to pin 19 which I set as a digital input. I then configured the intercom XBee to transmit a packet when the state of DIO19 changed. I found that these Data Sample Rx Indicator packets (API identifier value: 0×92) were always transmitted and so a packet was always sent out to the network when the intercom XBee was woken up using pin 20.


    All I had to do as regards the intercom was then to arrange for pin 20 to be grounded when the speaker was rung. This was easily accomplished used a bridge rectifier, a resistor and another opto-isolator. The schematic of the simple circuit I used appears in version 2 below. Here are some pictures of the XBee for the intercom mounted on some Veroboard together with the simple circuits to trigger the intercom switch and to wake up when the speaker is rung:


    XBee module for intercom (underside)


    XBee module for intercom (front side)


    As a result of this, all I had to do was to have the GM862 module plugged in elsewhere in my apartment, connected (serially) to another XBee waiting to hear the packets indicating that the speaker had been rung. If the speaker was rung, the module checked if it had received a text message recently from the correct person, containing the correct password. If so, the GM862 module used its XBee to send an API packet to the XBee in the intercom to cause it to trigger the Darlington opto-isolator and trigger the intercom switch. A Remote AT Command Request packet (API identifier value: 0×17) was used to do this. A simple python script was running on the GM862 module controlling all of this.


    Here’s a (pretty blurry!) picture of the GSM module inside it’s enclosure. You can see the GSM aerial, the power connector and the USB port on Sparkfun’s GM862 USB evaluation board.



    So that’s a brief sketch of version 1. I’ve omitted many details and smoothed over quite a few bumps but that was the general set up.

    Version 2

    Running the cable

    After I had version 1 working for a while, a friend of mine came round and commented that I could avoid having any batteries if I was willing to run a cable behind the wall in the hall from the intercom and have it come out in the hot press of my apartment.


    I decided this was worth the effort and set about carrying it out. The idea was to plug the GSM module into a plug socket in the hot press and connect it to the intercom using the cable I would run from the hot press to the intercom. No wireless modules and no batteries would be necessary. So I set about running the cable.


    I’d never really done any DIY but I was careful to think things through and was very satisfied with the results I got. I decided to use 8 core CAT5e cable and mount an RJ45 socket in the hot press which the CAT5e cable would connect to various junctions in the intercom circuit board. In fact I just need 4 of the 8 wires in the CAT5e cable (2 for the switch, 2 for the speaker) but I thought it would be worth having extra wires for any potential future features.


    I don’t know how people normally do cabling jobs like this but I decided to use magnets to run the cable behind the wall. I bought a **VERY** powerful F4335 neodymium rare earth magnet from Magnet Expert (which they allege can exert a force of ~1200N in ideal circumstances!). The internal walls in my apartment are made of 1.25cm plasterboard (drywall if you’re from the US). I also placed a small magnet tied to some string into the wall using the hole that the existing cable for the intercom enters by. I then guided this small magnet and string behind the wall using my super magnet. It worked like a dream! There were various complications involving support beams, turning a corner and a door frame but I studied the geometry carefully and also had bought a cheap but sufficient snake scope so in the end I managed to succeed.


    Once I had succeeded in running the cable from the intercom to the hot press, I mounted the RJ45 socket and used Polyfilla (multipurpose followed by fine surface) to cover my tracks where I had had to make a few holes in the hall wall. Here are a few pictures I took at various stages of this wiring job:

    This rj45 socket inside the intercom is wired up to the speaker and switch. The CAT5e cable plugs in to connect it to the rj45 socket in the hot press.

    An exit hole in the hall for the string-with-magnet which was necessary because of support beams behind the hall plasterboard.

    The string is run across the support beams. The exit hole in the previous picture is visible on the right and the edge of a beam is visible on the right edge of the large hole on the left.

    A rectangular piece of plasterboard is cut out of the wall surrounding the above holes and a piece of wood screwed in to the support beams. The CAT5e cable is running behind in a groove cut in the wood.

    The first round of polyfilla covering the rectangular piece of wood.

    After sanding and applying fine surface polyfilla and then painting

    A view of the door frame which I needed to run the wire through taken using my snake scope from inside the hot press.

    The same part of the door frame after I have succeeded in getting my drillbit to come through from the hall.

    The string exiting in the hot press at last.

    The hot press with rj45 socket mounted.

    A view showing the intercom and hot press with new rj45 socket.

    The SR latch

    With this cabling done, it was now trivial to have the GSM module trigger the intercom switch upon receipt of an appropriate text message. However I thought it would be useful for the GSM module to have two functions: one where it triggers the switch immediately upon receipt of a text and one where it will trigger the switch as soon as it hears the speaker ring (provided an appropriate text message was received recently).


    For this second function I needed the GSM module to hear the speaker. However there are no interrupts available on the GM862 pins so I would have to poll for the speaker. This would mean I could miss it if the module was busy doing something else and after noting that the module is particularly slow when it is waiting for the SIM to process a command, I realised that I would be lucky if I ever caught the speaker. I decided that the solution would be to have the speaker set an SR latch which the GSM module would poll and reset. I was keen to get this working quickly so I built a latch by hand using the transistors and resistors already available to me in my parts box. By the time I was building this I was less ignorant about electronics and so understood the importance of ensuring transistor saturation. I thus calculated my resistor values carefully and made sure that the current gain I was getting was safe even if the transistor beta $h_{fe}$ was at least a factor of 10 worse than the data-sheet claimed it could be. See the schematic for the circuit I used, the circuit to tap the speaker current is also shown.


    So the latch solved the problem of catching the speaker ring. A lucky thing here which saved me having to solder yet more transistors onto my Veroboard was that the GM862 module has an open collector output pin GPO2, ideal for resetting the latch (a CMOS GPIO pin would not work here as it would always be driving the circuit) and also a transistor buffered input pin GPI1, ideal for reading the state of the latch (a CMOS GPIO pin would not work here as it would draw too much current).

    Triggering switch.

    It is probably also worth mentioning that in this version, although I continued to use an opto-isolator to tap the speaker current (as seen in the above schematic), I decided to use a relay instead of the opto-isolator to trigger the switch. I did this because I once found the Darlington opto-isolator in version 1 of this project in an odd state. This reminded me that I really don’t know what circuitry the intercom switch is connected to (the wires just disappear into the wall, they don’t go elsewhere on the intercom PCB) so it would be best to pass current through a relay than through a phototransistor. As it turned out I had some (rather expensive) relays whose contacts were made of gold (Panasonic microwave ARE1303 relays) so as long as I trigger the relay reliably I can expect the switch current to pass through the contacts safely. Again, I refer the reader to the schematic for the details.

    Using the XBees

    As is evident, I no longer needed the XBee modules for this version of the project since I had overcome the wireless problem by, well, using wires! However it occurred to me that it would be pretty useful if I could reprogram/debug the GSM module remotely so I set my XBees both in transparent mode, connected the serial port of one up to the serial port of the GSM module and the other up to my PC. Because the logic levels of the GSM module’s serial port are 2.8V and the XBee modules claim that they will run on anything from 2.1V – 3.4V, and because I only have a short range problem I decided to run the XBee on 2.8V. (See the schematic for the voltage regulation circuit I constructed; in fact it generates 2.75V (if we neglect the very tiny current flowing from the adjust pin of the voltage regulator) but this is close enough. As elsewhere the exact components used reflect what was available to me from my parts box.)


    I then programmed the python script running the GSM module so that it would quit the python interpreter if it received the string ‘quit’ on its serial port and also so that it would send debug information out its serial port which I can listen to wirelessly on my PC. It has been extremely useful to be able to reprogram the GSM module without physical access and this works reliably. The XBee which plugs into my PC USB port is also rather neat:



    So that’s it really! I found this a very enjoyable, educational and satisfying project. I include the python scripts running on the GSM module below (with passwords and phone numbers removed!). There are still lots of small changes and improvements I can think of but I’m happy to say this works well in its current form. Here’s a picture of the complete Veroboard containing the circuits discussed above (on the right of the image we can also see the edge of Sparkfun’s USB evaluation board for the GM862 module):



    main.py

    import SER, MOD, sys
    
    class SerWriter:
       def write(self, s):
          t = '%d ' % MOD.secCounter()
          for c in s:
             if c == '\r' or c == '\n':
                t = t + ' '
             else:
                t = t + c
          SER.send(t + '\r\n')
    
    SER.set_speed('9600', '8N1')
    sys.stdout = sys.stderr = SerWriter()
    print 'Serial line set up'
    
    """
    I have two python files and the below import at the bottom of this script for two reasons:
    1. The below script will be compiled to a python object file and not recompiled each time
       we tun this script. This saves time on startup because Telit's python compiler is VERY
       slow.
    2. It is almost impossible to debug compile errors without getting the output of stderr and
       the setup I have here allows me to see them.
    """
    import sentry
    

    sentry.py

    import MDM, MOD, GPIO, SER, sys
    
    def get_till_empty(get):
       # Reads from stream determined by calling get till nothing left.
       # Might alter this to be able to handle case when get takes arguments.
       # (Then could use it for the SER and MDM receive functions too.)
       s = ''
       while 1:
          t = get()
          if t == '': # TODO: Robustify this termination condition.
             break
          s = s + t
          MOD.sleep(5) # Not sure if this helps but no harm.
       return s
    
    def parse_text_messages(s):
       l = []
       lines = s.split('\r')
       i = 0
       while 1: # StopIteration exception not supported in Python 1.5.2+ so have to do it old fashioned way.
          line = lines[i].strip()
          if line[:5] == '+CMGL':
             # TODO: Insert IndexError exception handling below.
             fields = line.split(',') # TODO: Handle quotes properly. Date/time mangled a bit by this. Also find out what fields[3] is (empty in all my examples).
             msg_id = int(fields[0][6:])
             sender = fields[2] # TODO: Fix up formatting issues like leading + and quotes.
             time_and_date = fields[4] + ' ' + fields[5] # TODO: Format this into more useful structure.
             i = i + 1
             body = lines[i].strip()
             l.append((msg_id, sender, body, time_and_date))
          i = i + 1
          if i &gt;= len(lines): # OK to check this here since ''.split('\r') == [''], i.e. length 1 list.
             break
       return l
    
    def open_door():
       sys.stdout.write('Welcome home!')
       GPIO.setIOvalue(UNLOCK_PIN, 1)
       MOD.sleep(DELAY)
       GPIO.setIOvalue(UNLOCK_PIN, 0)
       global last_open_time
       last_open_time = MOD.secCounter()
       """
       Note that the open signal for the door also triggers the speaker so this speaker sound has to be
       finished by the time we get to the below, where we try to latch the speaker state low again.
       If it isn't, the latch will just revert to the speaker high state and we could end up sending
       the open signal on each iteration of the outer loop until open_on_speaker_timeout is up
       which would be pretty silly. The delays in place are enough though I think.
       """
       sys.stdout.write('Setting BELL low')
       set_speaker_low()
    
    def set_speaker_low():
       GPIO.setIOvalue(BELL_WRITE_PIN, 1)
       MOD.sleep(DELAY)
       GPIO.setIOvalue(BELL_WRITE_PIN, 0)
    
    def report_state(destination, message):
       MDM.send('AT+CMGS=%s,145\r' % destination, DELAY)
       MOD.sleep(DELAY)
       response = get_till_empty(MDM.read)[-4:]
       if response == '\r\n&gt; ':
          sys.stdout.write('Texting %s to %s' % (message, destination))
          MDM.send(message + chr(0x1A), DELAY)
       else:
          sys.stderr.write('Unexpected response %s when texting %s to %s' % (response, message, destination))
    
    DELAY = 20 # 0.1s of second.
    SIM_PIN = xxxx
    BELL_READ_PIN = 1 # Important to use pin 1 here as need extra transistor buffer so don't draw to much current from latch circuit.
    BELL_WRITE_PIN = 2 # Important to use pin 2 here as need open collector output for my latch to work.
    UNLOCK_PIN = 10
    UNLOCKING_KEYS = { '"+35386xxxxxx"' : 'xxxxxx' } # I could store this dictionary in the SIM address book rather than the code.
    MAX_UNLOCK_TIME = 300 # 5 minutes.
    
    # Unlock SIM (and consequently register with network).
    MDM.send('AT+CPIN=%d\r' % SIM_PIN, 0)
    while MDM.receive(DELAY).find('READY') == -1: # TODO: Perform better match than just find('READY').
       MDM.send('AT+CPIN?\r', 0)
       MOD.sleep(DELAY)
    sys.stdout.write('Module ready')
    
    # Set our message format to text (not PDU).
    MDM.send('AT+CMGF=1\r', 0)
    MOD.sleep(DELAY) # Just in case module needs a moment to digest this command.
    MDM.send('AT+CMGD=1,4\r', DELAY) # Clear out all text messages before we start.
    MOD.sleep(DELAY * 2)
    
    GPIO.setIOdir(BELL_READ_PIN, 0, 0)
    GPIO.setIOdir(BELL_WRITE_PIN, 0, 1)
    GPIO.setIOdir(UNLOCK_PIN, 0, 1)
    
    last_open_on_speaker_text_time = 0
    open_on_speaker_timeout = 0
    last_open_time = 0
    last_speaker_time = 0
    sys.stdout.write('Entering main loop')
    while 1:
       sys.stdout.write('Looping')
       MDM.send('AT+CMGL="ALL"\r', DELAY) # DELAY is just a maximum wait here; in general we're quicker than this.
       for (msg_id, sender, body, time_and_date) in parse_text_messages(get_till_empty(MDM.read)):
          sys.stdout.write('Deleting message with id: %d' % msg_id)
          MDM.send('AT+CMGD=%d\r' % msg_id, DELAY)
          MOD.sleep(50)
          if sender in UNLOCKING_KEYS.keys() and body.startswith(UNLOCKING_KEYS[sender]):
             sys.stdout.write('Message %s, %s matched.' % (sender, body))
             body_fields = body.split()
             if len(body_fields) == 2:
                try:
                   open_on_speaker_timeout = min(MAX_UNLOCK_TIME, int(body_fields[1]))
                   last_open_on_speaker_text_time = MOD.secCounter()
                except ValueError:
                   sys.stderr.write('Unrecognised field "%s". Was expecting timeout in seconds.' % body_fields[1])
             else:
                open_door()
          elif sender in UNLOCKING_KEYS.keys() and body == 'state':
             report_state(sender,
                          'now=%d\n'\
                          'last_speaker=%d\n'\
                          'last_open=%d\n'\
                          'last_open_on_speaker_time=%d\n'\
                          'last_open_on_speaker_timeout=%d'\
                          % (MOD.secCounter(), last_speaker_time, last_open_time, last_open_on_speaker_text_time, open_on_speaker_timeout))
          else:
             sys.stdout.write('Ignoring unmatched message: %s, %s' % (sender, body))
       if GPIO.getIOvalue(BELL_READ_PIN) == 1:
          sys.stdout.write('BELL state high')
          last_speaker_time = MOD.secCounter()
          if MOD.secCounter() - last_open_on_speaker_text_time &lt; open_on_speaker_timeout:
             open_door()
          set_speaker_low() # It will in fact already be low if we just called open_door() but that's fine.
       else:
          sys.stdout.write('BELL state low')
       MOD.sleep(DELAY)
       if get_till_empty(SER.read).find('quit') != -1:
          sys.stdout.write('OK quitting python')
          break
    
    5 thoughts on “Locked out at 2am

    1. Pingback: GSM enabled security door - Hack a Day

    2. Pingback: The Telly Terminator « Oliver Nash's Blog

    3. Pingback: GSM enabled security door « Tamil Affection

    Leave a Reply

    